Articles On Ayurved · Stri Rog

Woman’s Health and Hormonal imbalance

 

 

 

Woman’s Health and Hormonal imbalance

“I’m tired of feeling terrible all the time. Do I need to do hormone replacement to feel better, or is there a natural way to get my hormones in balance?”

Fertility or Normal menstrual cycle reflects overall health of the female body , including digestion, elimination and metabolism, in addition to reproductive functioning .

Hormones are secreted by various glands and organs including your thyroid,adrenals, pituitary, ovaries in women, testicles in men and pancreas.

The entire endocrine system works together to control the level of hormones circulating throughout our body, and if one or more is even slightly imbalanced it can cause widespread, major health problems.

Hormones — such as estrogen, testosterone, adrenaline and insulin — are extremely important chemical messengers that affect many aspects of Women’s overall health.

Hormone Fluctuations

From puberty to menopause your hormones are constantly fluctuating and this is a part of the natural life cycle, this gets the body ready for ovulation, and possible pregnancy, if this does not occur then the menstrual cycle begins and the process starts over again.

Once a woman gets past 40 years of age hormone levels start to decline, this will eventually lead to menopause at around 50-52 years of age. While hormones are naturally fluctuating, problems start to occur when the fluctuations go out of balance …. this can cause a lot of symptoms in both your body and your mind.

Women suffer from mood and behavior swings resulting from the
three P’s: Puberty,premenstrual syndrome (PMS), and peri-menopause (the years leading up to and just after their final period),
or the three M’s: menstrual cramps, menopause and mental anxiety!

PMS, menopausal symptoms, and other problems are all signs of imbalances in your sex hormones.

Causes-

Imbalances in your hormones are triggered by

1. bad food. If you eat sugar, you’ll produce more insulin, more estrogen, and more testosterone

2. not exercising enough;

3.being exposed to environmental toxins;

4. it’s due to bad habits, such as drinking alcohol and smoking and

5. being chronically stressed.

Sign and Symptoms-

When female patients suspect sex hormones might be out of whack, this self-evaluate quiz by Dr Mark Hyman will help to know the state of hormonal imbalance.

I have premenstrual syndrome.

I have monthly weight fluctuation.

I have edema, swelling, puffiness, or water retention.

I feel bloated.

I have headaches.

I have mood swings.

I have tender, enlarged breasts.

I am depressed.

I feel unable to cope with ordinary demands.

I have backaches, joint, or muscle pain.

I have premenstrual food cravings (especially sugar or salt).

I have irregular cycles, heavy bleeding, or light bleeding.

I am infertile.

I use birth-control pills or other hormones.

I have premenstrual migraines.

I have breast cysts or lumps or fibrocystic breasts.

I have uterine fibroids.

I have peri-menopausal symptoms (hot flashes, mood swings, headaches, irregular cycles, heavy bleeding, fluid retention, breast tenderness, vaginal dryness, brain fog, muscle and joint pain, low sex drive, weight gain).

I have hot flashes.

I feel anxious.

I have night sweats.

I have insomnia.

I have lost my sex drive.

I have dry skin, hair, and/ or vagina.

I have heart palpitations.

I have trouble with memory or concentration.

I have bloating or weight gain around the middle.

I have facial hair.

I have been exposed to pesticides orheavy metals (in the food, water, and/ or air).

Score one point for every time you answered “yes,” and then check out how you scored using the scale below:

0 to 9 – You may have a mild sex hormone imbalance.

10 to 14 – You may have a moderate sex hormone imbalance.

15 or more – You may have a severe sex hormone imbalance.

Some specific problems associated with some of the most common hormonal imbalances include:

Estrogen dominance:
changes in sleep patterns,
changes in weight and appetite,
higher perceived stress,
slowed metabolism.

Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome(PCOS): infertility, weight gain, higher risk for diabetes, acne, abnormal hair growth.

Low estrogen: low sex drive, reproductive problems, menstrual irregularity, changes in mood

Hypothyroidism: slowed metabolism, weight gain, fatigue, anxiety, irritability, digestive issues, irregular periods

Hyperthyroidism & Grave’s Disease: anxiety, thinning hair, weight loss, IBS, trouble sleeping, irregular heartbeats

Diabetes: weight gain, nerve damage (neuropathy), higher risk for vision loss, fatigue, trouble breathing, dry mouth, skin problems

Adrenal fatigue: fatigue, muscle aches and pains, anxiety and depression, trouble sleeping, brain fog, reproductive problems.

Treatment-

Conventional treatments for hormonal imbalances usually include synthetic hormone replacement therapies, birth control pills, insulin injections, thyroid medications and more.

Unfortunately, for the majority of people suffering from hormonal disorders, relying on these types of synthetic treatments often does three things:

_ It makes people dependent on taking prescription drugs for the rest of their lives in order to keep symptoms under control.

-It simply masks the patient’s symptoms, but doesn’t solve them, which means that the patient can continue to develop abnormalities in other areas of the body while the disorder progresses.
– It causes a higher risk for serious side effects such as stroke, osteoporosis, anxiety, reproductive problems, cancer and more.

Natural way to restore Hormones will discuss in next article.

Dr. Rupali Mahadik
M.D Streerog
Amrutwel Women’s Clinic
Kharghar
9322187726

#HormonalImbalance #Hormones #PMS #MoodSwings #infertility #womenhealth #fertilityandpregnancy
#obesity #pregnancy #irregularcycle #Naturalways #Diet #Ayurveda #Ayurvedatreatment #Womenclinic #navimumbai

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

